Information on November 8 primary election

(Editor’s Note—Local offices on the Nov. 8th ballot include DeQuincy Mayor, all five City Council seats, Calcasieu Parish School Board District 10 seat and Beauregard Parish School Board District 1 seat.

For those contemplating becoming candidates, now is the time to make preparations. Each candidate will receive one free announcement with photo on the front page of the DeQuincy News. Announcements must not contain any political platform and must be submitted no later than Monday, Sept. 26, at 4 p.m.)

The following is important information for the Tuesday, Nov. 8, 2022 Open Congressional Primary Election:

The qualifying period for candidates is July 20-22. Local and municipal candidates qualify with the clerk of court in the parish in which they are registered to vote (contact your local clerk of court for office hours). Federal and state candidates qualify in the executive offices of Secretary of State, Kyle Ardoin at 8585 Archives Ave. in Baton Rouge between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.

Qualifying fees must be paid in the form of cash; certified or cashier’s check on a state or national bank or credit union; U.S. postal money order; or money order issued by a state or national bank or credit union and must be accompanied by the qualifying form.

The deadline to register to vote in person, by mail or at the OMV Office is Oct. 11.

The deadline to register to vote through the GeauxVote Online Registration System is Oct. 18.

Early voting is Oct. 25 through Nov. 1 (excluding Sunday, Oct. 30) from 8:30 a.m.-6 p.m.

The deadline to request an absentee ballot is Nov. 4 by 4:30 p.m (other than military and overseas voters). You can request an absentee ballot online through our Voter Portal or in writing through your Registrar of Voters Office.

The deadline for a registrar of voters to receive a voted absentee ballot is Nov. 7 by 4:30 p.m. (other than military and overseas voters).

On election day, the polls are open from 6 a.m.-8 p.m.

The deadline to file for propositions, tax or special election for this election is June 22.