Ward 6 holds Safety, Awards Dinner

On Friday, Dec. 17, the annual Christmas Safety and Awards dinner was held at Ward 6 Fire Station 2. In conjunction with the dinner, a dedication of the recently completed apparatus bay at Station 2 was also held.

The project was dedicated in memory of retired fire chief Timothy Gilland, who passed away in August. Ward 6 Chaplain Carlton Jackson led the dedication with a prayer. Chief Parker, Chief Dean Lappe -Houston River FD, and Chief Shane Frazier- Beauregard FD 1 Oretta station spoke in memory and honor of Chief Gilland. Kolyn Gilland, David Gilland, and Chief Gilland’s mother Ella Dean, along with other family members were in attendance for the unveiling of the dedication plaque.

Awards were also presented to the following members:

Asst. Chief Anthony Broxson, 5 years service; Firefighter Desiree White, 10 years of service; Captain Gary Underwood, 15 years of service; Captain Teri Parker, 30 years of service; Chief Todd Parker, 30 years of service.

Most Meetings Attended, FF Anthony (T. J.) Peshoff Jr.; Most Emergency Calls, Capt. Gary Underwood; Recruit Firefighter of the Year, Jeffery Newby; Firefighter of the Year, Michael Estes.

The community of Ward 6 in Calcasieu Parish is blessed to have dedicated volunteers that work to provide fire protection to the citizens of the fire district. The community is much safer knowing these individuals dedicate themselves to every task with pride, teamwork, and excellence.

Following the awards presentation, fire safety training and the importance of working smoke and Carbon Monoxide detectors was presented.