History made in Beauregard Parish Police Jury election

By Pamela Sleezer, American Press

For the first time in Beauregard Parish’s history, two women took the oath of office to serve on the parish police jury Monday night, Jan 13. Clerk of Court Brian Lestage swore into office the full panel that included six newcomers as they took their district seats for the first time.

District 5 juror Kelly Bailey was selected to serve as vice-president of the panel alongside incumbent Mike Harper (District 3D), who was selected as panel president.

Bailey will join other newcomers Shanel Handy (District 3A), Wayne Reeves (District 1), Jeffery Meadows (District 2), Eddie Ware (District 3B), and Chuck Montgomery (District 3C) as they take their seats alongside incumbents Jerry Shirley (District 3E), John Stebbins (District 4A), and Ronnie Jackson (District 4B).

The panel’s first action was to reappoint Secretary and Treasurer Shantel Alleman to another two-year term.